Posted in Book Review

REVIEW: Dress Like a Girl by Patricia Toht


As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Barnes & Noble | Amazon

Title: Dress Like a Girl

Author: Patricia Toht

Illustrator: Lorian Tu-Dean

Published: January 22, 2019

Theme:  Empowerment

Character Origin: Human

Book Type: Picture Book | Pages: 32

Ages: 4-8 | Book Level: — | Lexile Measure:

Synopsis: A playful and fashionable slumber party takes an empowering turn in this gorgeous picture book, perfect for fans of Princesses Wear Pants and Rosie Revere, Engineer!

In these beautifully illustrated pages, a diverse cast of slumber party participants considers the most time-honored traditions for how to dress. If a lady should wear white in summertime, then how about donning a spacesuit? If team colors are apropos at sporting events, why not wear helmets and play ball?

Uplifting and resonant, and with a variety of interests ranging from sports to science to politics, this book is sure to inspire any young girl, instilling the idea that the best way to dress like a girl is the way that makes you feel most like YOU!

“What does it mean to dress like a girl?

My thoughts…

This book encourages girls to dress in whatever way FEELS best. There is no stereotype here. Be your own best self–however that looks. There is no set way to be you. You set that standard. You make those rules. Girls will really connect with this book. Each of us can dress in whatever way feels right to us.

The illustrations were quite lovely and playful. Tu-Dean blends various artistic mediums to create this enjoyable visual palette. The size of the text makes it easy for a young reader to finger track. When read aloud the words have a somewhat harmonic quality. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would equally enjoy a male version as well (hint..hint!).

My rating…

Posted in Book Review

REVIEW: I Am Enough by Grace Byers


As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

BOOK TRAILER

Barnes & Noble | Amazon

Title: I Am Enough

Author: Grace Byers

Illustrator: Keturah A. Bobo

Published: March 6, 2018

Theme:  Self Love and Empowerment

Character Origin: Human

Book Type: Picture Book | Pages: 32

Ages: 4-8 | Book Level: — | Lexile Measure:

Synopsis:   Am Enough is the picture book everyone needs, and it’s now a New York Times bestseller and the picture book winner in the Goodreads Choice Awards!

This is a gorgeous, lyrical ode to loving who you are, respecting others, and being kind to one another—from Empire actor and activist Grace Byers and talented newcomer artist Keturah A. Bobo.

This is the perfect gift for mothers and daughters, baby showers, and graduation.

We are all here for a purpose. We are more than enough. We just need to believe it.

My thoughts…

This book is EVERYTHING! I am simply in LOVE with the cover. The proses are beautifully written and splendidly conveys self-love and empowerment. I see why this is an NYT bestseller. The size of the text and word choice makes it easy for a young reader to read and understand. This book could be enjoyed either as a read aloud or as an independent read. The reader will be left feeling empowered and with a growing sense of self. This is truly a great book for brown girls. It will remind them that despite the challenges of their households or neighborhoods, they are enough.

Bobo’s cover art is simple yet extraordinary. Brown girls will gravitate toward this book because they see someone that looks like them. The illustrations against the white background simply jump off the pages. I love the diversity of the characters and hairstyles (really cool!). Bobo tells her own story with these beautiful paintings. The text and imagery elevate the literary game. Simple is sometimes best. I’m adding this gem to my bookshelf and you should too. I challenge Title I teachers to request this be added to their classroom and library inventories.

My rating…